Posted by: kiwitravelandtours | September 7, 2010

Great Barrier Reef -Australia

Mike and I also arrange tours around Australia as well as New Zealand.  If groups have the time, we encourage them to do both countries -although New Zealand first!  It makes sense when travelling down to the Antipodes to try for ‘ a contrast’ that a combination of New Zealand and Australia (or any of the Pacific Islands) can offer.  Chris was a member of a recent group that travelled with us.  After their wonderful New Zealand experience, we sent them to Sydney and Cairns and arranged various activities around each location. Of course when in Cairns, the Great Barrier Reef is the primary attraction.  This is how Chris found the Barrier Reef cruise we sent the group on –

“We sure did go on a Reef Experience!  I had a blast! I can’t believe I went snorkeling and scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef. The Great Barrier Reef is known as The Seven Natural Wonders of the World.  I was so nervous before jumping into the ocean because I know I use both my nose and mouth for breathing. Since I was attached to a air tank all my breathing had to come from my mouth.  I was scared, but I kept telling myself to relax. The girl who was ahead of me went in the water, but then soon came back up.  That made me more nervous.  The scuba instructor pointed to me saying it was my turn to give it a go.  Seeing someone not being able to stay underwater made me more nervous, but I kept telling myself to relax and enjoy the views.  I go underneath the ship and I saw Rachel. I held on to the bar as we were instructed.  Well not instructed, since you can’t speak underwater.  The scuba dive instructor pointed to the bar and I could tell he wanted me to hold it.  The instructor had to use lots of facial expressions and gestures to relay messages on what he wanted us to do.  I finally got use to breathing underwater and we explored the Great Barrier Reef. It was magnificent to see the living organisms under the sea.  I saw a baby white reef shark, amazing coral life, schools of big and small fish, a turtle, two huge clams.  I tried to take pictures with my underwater camera, but it was hard because we were connected to our fellow divers by our arms to helps us stay at the same level.  Twenty minutes went by fast and I can’t believe I went scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef. Afterwards, I joined the rest of the group to snorkel.  It was also beautiful.  The reef was so close to you that everything was visible.  We had to be careful to not touch and disturb the reef. While snorkeling several of us got to touch Gus, a sea turtle.  After all the water, sun, and fun the Reef Experience staff treated us with free wine and cheese. This was a great way to end the trip!”

The Great Barrier Reef

Great Barrier ReefGreat Barrier Reef

Thanks Chris -glad you had a blast!

Nicola

http://www.kiwitravelandtours.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

