Posted by: kiwitravelandtours | August 16, 2010

New Zealand -The Marlborough Wine Region

Off the top of my head, I believe there are 46 wineries forming the Marlborough wine trail. Located at the top of New Zealand’s South Island, with sunny days and cooler nights, the area mainly celebrates one varietal -Sauvignon Blanc. When we take tour groups into the South Island we always try to make time to stop -even briefly -to enjoy Marlborough’s  food specialities -especially seafood -matched with the local wines.

Today, I only want to tell you about one of the wineries, (and I’ve tried a few) -Hunter’s Wines.  Last month we took a tour group there for a very delicious lunch and equally delicious and very informative wine tasting. Jane Hunter is the ‘powerhouse’ behind the vineyard and her contribution was recognised in 1993 when she was awarded an OBE for service to the wine industry.

We arrived at Hunter’s Garden Cafe in the middle of a wet, cold winter blast and were welcomed into a cosy restaurant with a roaring fire complete with incumbent feline. The menu was one I had ‘designed’ with restauranteur Dietmar Schnarre to reflect the needs of my group, so I knew what to expect.  However, the quality and generosity of the meals surpassed my expectations, a reflection of the warmth of our welcome and a wonderful way to ‘introduce’ a New Zealand culinary experience. Here are a couple of photos we took that day –

Hunter's Wines

A tasting or 2!

Enjoying the food and the warmth!

Nicola

http://www.kiwitravelandtours.com

Responses

  1. This vineyard was a highlight of my trip and the best meal I had in New Zealand, hands down. The staff was amazing, the ambiance was serene, and the wine tasting incorporated wines everyone could enjoy. I can’t wait to go back!

  2. This was definitely an experience. We tasted about more than five different kinds of wines and ate an amazing dinner. I still can’t forget how delicious that steak was 🙂 YUMMMY. I loved that place!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

